Baking cut-out cookies

Hello fabulous people!

I have a coworker who has been sick  for a few week, but she was coming back to work this Monday, so I decided to bake her some welcome back-cookies. I wanted to make cut-out cookies, or sugar cookies, because I hade a new set of heart shaped cookie cutters. Sugar cookies are maybe not the most delicious type of cookie, bur I wanted to make something pretty. Bedsides, we have someone with a very grave nut allergy at work, and almost all delicious baked goods contain nuts. So I went for sugar cookies, but with flavoring.

I wanted to try different flavors, so I searched around for a while on Pinterest, and then settled for two different flavors, lemon and spicy brown sugar. I really love lemon, and I thought that a little spice would be nice. I realized after I baked them, that the spiced cookies were essentially just gingerbread, which I really should have realized earlier. I changed up the recipes a little bi though, so that I could just make two versions of the same dough. I added some chocolate to the spiced cookies, and I added a bit of cornstarch to the dough, because I read here that it would make the cookies hold their shape better. For the icing, I used this recipe. I used lemon and vanilla extract, even though she says that almond tastes the best.

These are my tweaked recipes:

Spiced brown cutout cookies

  • 2 ½ cups flour (6 dl)
  • ½ cup cornstarch (1 dl)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. ground cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp. grated nutmeg
  • ½ cup sugar (1 dl)
  • ½ cup brown sugar (1 dl)
  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature (230 grams)
  • 1 egg and 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • ½ cup chopped chocolate (1 dl)

Mix sugars and butter until smooth. Mix in egg and vanilla extract. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl, and mix them in. Chop up the chocolate, and mix in. Wrap the dough in plastic, and let rest in fridge over night. Roll the cookies out to ¼ inch (0,4 cm), and bake for 10-12 minutes in 350 degrees Fahrenheit (175 degrees Celsius).

I later changed this to about 1/3-1/2 inch (1 cm), for 8-9 minutes in 340 degrees Fahrenheit (170 degrees Celsius).

Lemon cutout cookies

  • 2 ½ cups flour (6 dl)
  • ½ cup cornstarch (1 dl)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar (2 ½ dl)
  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature (230 grams)
  • 1 egg and 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp lemon zest

Mix sugars and butter until smooth. Mix in egg, lemon juice and zest. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl, and mix them in. Wrap the dough in plastic, and let rest in fridge over night. Roll the cookies out to ¼ inch (0,4 cm), and bake for 10-12 minutes in 350 degrees Fahrenheit (180degrees Celsius).

I later changed this to about 1/3-1/2 inch (1 cm), for 8-9 minutes in 340 degrees Fahrenheit (170 degrees Celsius).

Icing

  • 4 cups powdered sugar (9 ½ dl)
  • 6 tablespoons whole milk
  • 6 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ teaspoon lemon extract

Mix the sugar and milk until free of lumps. The add syrup and extracts. Add more milk or more sugar to get desired texture.

I made the dough on Saturday, and then wrapped it in plastic and put it in the fridge overnight. On Sunday morning I started baking them out. The dough was quite hard to roll out when cold, it was very hard and just crumbled.

The first batch of cookies i rolled out to approximately 0,4 cm (¼ inch), because that was what the different recipes i had read said to do. I put them in the oven for about 10 minutes, because the recipe said 10-12 minutes. That batch of cookies turned ut rock solid. They still tasted good, but they were was to hard. I also realized that I hadn’t been using baking paper, but sandwich paper, witch looks the same but can’t take the heat of the oven. So the first cookies was also stuck to the paper. Great success.

hgki-001

The next batch I made thicker, about 1 cm (1/3-1/2 inch), and only left in the oven for 8-9 minutes. I also turned the heat down slightly, to 170 degrees Celsius (340 degrees Fahrenheit). They came out way better, even though I put them a little bit to close together. This way worked out better, so I did the rest of the cookies with this change.

hgki-010

The lemon cookies after baking

hgki-009

The spiced cookies after baking

After I made the cookies I let them cool down a little bit before I started on the icing. I made thick white icing witch i outlined the cookies with (very hard). After the outline had dried I mixed in a little more milk with the icing, and flooded the cookies. I then split the remaining icing into two bowls and added food coloring. I chose blue for the lemon cookies, and red for the spiced ones. I then tried to make a marbled pattern using a toothpick, but unfortunately the icing on the cookies had dried too much by then, so I just ended up with crusty, matte and messy frosting.

hgki-152

The spiced cookies after icing

hgki-151

The lemon cookies after icing

My coworker loved the cookies, but I think it was mostly because she was happy that I put in an effort. Please guys, give me some baking tips so I don’t have to make such a mess next time!

Spara

Leave a Reply

