The books that define me

Today I thought I would make a list of books that have, and still continue to inspire me. These are books that has helped me trough difficult times, and that has let me to discover things about myself. If you want to put it that way, these books helped define me in a way. Anyway, they are all great books, and I hope you read them!

Curiosity

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

This is a absolutely amazing book, that I read over and over again (currently re-reading it now in fact). It’s a semi-autobiographical book about a man that escaped an Australian prison and flees to India. That is the start of a wonderful adventure, with love, and war, drugs and poverty, Bollywood movies and the black market. It is a beautifully written book, with great characters. It so full of exciting events that you will never get bored!

This book really sparked my fascination with India (even though I’ve always loved the food), and I’ve wanted to go there ever since I read it. It avoke an enormous curiosity in me, and I love any book that has the ability to really shake me up.

Fantasy

Lord of the rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

I’m sure all of you have either read the books or watched the movies by now, but i can’t help but to mention them. These were the first adult books i ever read. I started with The hobbit when I was eight, ad i read the trilogy shortly afterwards. Maybe I owe my love of books to these.

I’m not even going to bother telling you what these books are about, because so many people have told it so much better than I can. If you haven’t read them, please do, especially if you have watched the movies and enjoyed them.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams

I read these book at least once a year. They are incredibly witty and funny, with a humor that is both childish and intellectual. They comment on human behavior, politics and religion with such charm that it’s impossible to get upset, no matter how vulgar the statement.If I’m feeling sad or bored, these are my go-to. If you have seen the movie, these are nothing like it. I did not like the movie, but the books I love!

The stories are about a man called Arthur Dent, and the space adventures that he is forced into after the earth is demolished to make way for a hyperspace bypass.

Anxiety

Veronica decides to die by Paulo Coelho

I never really liked Paulo Coelho until I read this book.It is a great story, with helped me enormously when i was going through depressions.

The book is about a girl called Veronica, who tries to take her life. She fails, and wakes up in a hospital, where she is told that she only has a few days to live. It is a lovely story about love and the reasons to live. I know that thee is a movie adaption, but I have not seen it.

Jag vill inte dö, jag vill bara inte leva (I do not want to die, I just do not want to live) by Ann Heberlein

You know how you sometimes read a book that you feel like you could have written? This is one of those books for me. Unfortunately I don’t think that its available in any other language than Swedish, but i had to mention it anyway. It’s a book about depression, anxiety and bipolar disorder, that is very relatable.

Sexuality

Tipping the velvet by Sarah Waters

A beautiful historical novel set in the 1890’s about a working-class girl called Nancy who falls in love with a performer named Kitty. She leaves her home and her family, and follows her to London.

This is a classical novel is both romantic and erotic, and the characters explore sexuality as well as genders. BBC made a television drama in three parts that is worth watching.

Stjärnor utan svindel (Stars without vertigo) by Louise Boije af Gennäs

This is a semi-autobiographical book about a woman called Sophie, who lives a happy life with her husband Lucas and their dogs. Until she meets Kaja, a lesbian radical feminist, and the two start a passionate love affair.

It’s a book about self-discovery, class, divorce and sexuality discovered later in life.

Morbidness

Låt den rätte komma in (Let the right one in) by John Ajvide Lindqvist

This is a vampire fiction novel, that i brought because of the cover. It was how I discovered John Ajvide Lindqvist, who then became one of my most beloved authors. He writes intriguing stories with honest characters, often with fantasy themes.

This one is about a 12-year old boy called Oscar and his relationship with a vampire called Eli. There are two movies based on this book, a Swedish one called Låt den rätte komma in (Let the right one in) and an American-British one called Let me in.

Misery by Stephen King

Misery is a horror novel by the one and only Stephen King. I am a big fan of Stephen King in general, and I think this is one of his best. There is a movie based on this book, but I have not seen it.

This one is about an author who writes romantic novels he doesn’t really care for. He crashes his car while driving through a snowstorm, and is rescued by a woman called  Annie Wilkes. Apparently, she is his biggest fan, and she decides to take care of him while he heals from his injuries. While he is there, she reads his latest novel and finds out that he killed the main character. She is extremely upset, and then forces him to start writing an alternative version.

 

These are some of my favorite books, I hope you try a few of them out. And I would love to get some recommendations from you!

Leave a Reply

