Book review – Luften är fri by Sara Lövestam

Hi guys! Today’s post is a book review of a book called Luften är fri by Sara Lövestam. The title is roughly translated to The air is free.


The first book I read by Sara was a book called Udda (Odd). I remember that I participated in some sort of a writing competition before it was released, and the prize was that book. I had no idea who she was and it was her first book to be published.

When I read that book, I suddenly felt so included. I was young, and it was the first time that I ever read a book that was truly about me. I had read books about LGBTQ people before, but none that really felt like it described the situation that me or the people I knew was in. That book, just as this one, was about minority’s. Not just about the LGBTQ community, but other overlooked groups as well. It was, and still is, an amazing book.

Now to this book. It plays out in Stockholm, the capital of Sweden, and follows a man called Kouplan. He is an immigrant from Iran, who escaped because of political reasons after his brother mysteriously disappeared. He came to Sweden and sought asylum, but his application was denied. Since then, he’s been trying to get by as a illegal immigrant. He’s also started a journey towards being his true self, a man.

Kouplan works as a private investigator, mostly focused on adultery. This book follows one of those cases, when a woman called Ulrika contacts Kouplan because she thinks that her husband Håkan might be cheating on her. Kouplan takes the job, and he quickly discovers that this mystery is bigger than he thought.

luftenarfri-inb

This is the third book in the series about Kouplan, but you can read it without having read the first two. Sara is an excellent writer, who is great at capturing and giving life to her characters.

Here is the review in Swedish/Här är recensionen på svenska

Den första boken jag läste av Sara var en bok som heter Udda. Jag minns att jag var med i någon form av en skrivtävling innan den släpptes, och priset i den tävlingen var den boken. Jag hade ingen aning om vem hon var och det var hennes första bok publicerades.

När jag läste den boken, kände jag mig plötsligt så inkluderad. Jag var ung, och det var första gången som jag läst en bok som verkligen handlade om mig. Jag hade läst böcker om HBTQ människor tidigare, men ingen som verkligen kändes som om den beskrev situationen som jag eller de människor jag kände var i. Den boken, precis som denna, handlade om minoriteter. Inte bara om HBTQ-personer, utan även andra förbisedda grupper. Den var, och är fortfarande, en fantastisk bok.

Nu till den här boken. Den utspelar sig i Stockholm och följer en man som heter Kouplan. Han är en invandrare från Iran, som flydde på grund av politiska skäl efter att hans bror mystiskt försvunnit. Han kom till Sverige och sökte asyl, men hans ansökan avslogs. Sedan dess har han försökt att hanka sig fram som en illegal invandrare. Han har också startat sin resa mot att bli sitt sanna jag, en man.

Kouplan jobbar som privatdetektiv, med fokus på äktenskapsbrott. Denna bok följer ett av dessa fall, när en kvinna som heter Ulrika kontaktar Kouplan eftersom hon tror att hennes man Håkan är otrogen mot henne. Kouplan tar jobbet, och han upptäcker snabbt att detta mysterium är större än han trodde.

Detta är den tredje boken i serien om Kouplan, men du kan läsa den utan att ha läst de två första. Sara är en utmärkt författare, som är bra på att fånga och ge liv åt sina karaktärer.

Leave a Reply

